With over 150 members across two orchestras, Stoneleigh Youth Orchestra (SYO) has been providing outstanding opportunities for musicians in London since 1944. Joo Yeon Sir has performed both the Tchaikovsky and Sibelius violin concertos with SYO in the past and they are thrilled she is joining them again to perform Bruch’s dazzling work. Three minutes of perfection start the concert in the guise of Wagner’s boisterous Prelude to Act 3 of Lohengrin.

Rachmaninoff’s second symphony has suffered hugely in the past from harmful cuts and revisions that reduced the length of the symphony in some cases to as little as thirty-five minutes. Nowadays it is almost always performed in its full and original version; a glorious sixty minutes of some of the most sublime melodies and rich harmonies in all the symphonic repertoire. Following their summer performance here in London, SYO are hugely excited to embark on a tour in Europe that will see several performances of this programme.


Stoneleigh Youth Orchestra
Stoneleigh Training Orchestra
Joo Yeon Sir
Robert Hodge
Dan Shilladay
Lohengrin Prelude to Act III
Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor Op. 26
Symphony No. 2 in E minor Op. 27