Following her exciting Proms debut with the BBC Symphony Orchestra last year, rising young American conductor Karina Canellakis returns to direct the orchestra in two 20th-century Russian masterpieces.

Although composed just three years before his death, Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances pulse with exhilarating rhythmic energy, while Shostakovich’s much-loved First Cello Concerto features Alisa Weilerstein in the solo part originally composed for the great cellist Mstislav Rostropovich.

Violence and tenderness battle in Beethoven’s Coriolan overture and a UK premiere by Andrew Norman completes the programme.




Ludwig van Beethoven

Overture Coriolan

Dmitri Shostakovich

Cello Concerto No 1 in E flat major




Andrew Norman


Sergei Rachmaninov

Symphonic Dances


Broadcast on BBC Four on Sunday 29 July.



  • Date: 23 July 2018
  • ROYAL ALBERT HALL Kensington Gore London, SW7 2AP Box Office 020 7589 8212
  • Time: 7:00PM
  • Tickets: £7.50 to £41
  • Website: