Composed over a period of just two months in the summer of 1788, Mozart’s three final symphonies together form a musical sequence that explores all sides of humanity. No. 39 offers a grand introduction, its fanfares and dances setting the scene, before we’re plunged into the dark drama of the Symphony No. 40, and finally emerge into the sunlight of the ‘Jupiter’ Symphony, with its dazzling fugal finale. The Scottish Chamber Orchestra is conducted by its dynamic Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev.

Maxim Emelyanychev


  • Symphony No. 39 in E flat major (29 mins)
  • Symphony No. 40 in G minor (30 mins)
  • Symphony No. 41 in C major, ‘Jupiter’ (31 mins)

Booking opens for this concert at 9am on Saturday 26 June.