Ilan Volkov opens the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s 2018 series at Southbank Centre.

The evening begins with Liszt’s brooding From the Cradle to the Grave before accomplished soloist Pavel Kolesnikov (‘outstanding’ The New Statesman) performs Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.4.

The concert concludes with Mahler’s momentous Symphony No.1, which erupts in majestic brass fireworks.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Ilan Volkov conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov piano



Liszt: Von der Wiege bis zum Grabe (From the cradle to the grave), S.107 – symphonic poem

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.4
Mahler: Symphony No.1