Igor Levit’s recital combines mighty transcriptions by Brahms and Liszt with an entrancing mix of counterpoint and romantic melody. It culminates with the bell-like sounds of Wagner’s ‘Solemn March’ and Busoni’s spectacular piano arrangement of Liszt’s organ Fantasy and Fugue.







Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Chaconne by JS Bach for piano left hand (arr. of Chaconne in D minor for solo violin BWV1004)

Ferruccio Busoni (1866-1924)

Fantasia after JS Bach BV253

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Geistervariationen (Ghost Variations) WoO 24




Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

Solemn March to the Holy Grail from Wagner’s Parsifal

Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale ‘Ad nos, ad salutarem undam’ S259 (arr. Ferruccio Busoni)