The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra returns under Chief Conductor Kirill Karabits to recall memories of music past. In Mason Bates’s evocative Auditorium, the orchestra is ‘possessed’ by a ghostly Baroque ancestor. Janáček’s rhapsodic suite Taras Bulba looks back to Czech folk music in three battle-charged episodes from Gogol’s novella. The bittersweet, poignant beauty of Elgar’s Cello Concerto draws on another conflict: the cataclysmic loss and suffering of the First World War.

Kirill Karabits © Konrad Ćwik


Mason Bates, Auditorium (16 min)

Edward Elgar, Cello Concerto in E minor (30 min)

Leos Janáček, Taras Bulba (23 min)

*PART OF Proms 2021