Founded exactly 25 years ago, the ensemble won the London International String Quartet Competition (predecessor of the Wigmore event) in 2000 and has subsequently enjoyed a career in the highest echelons of the chamber-music world. A wide range of recordings – including, recently, the entire Beethoven sequence – has been consistently well received. ‘No other quartet can match this group’s four-voiced marriage,’ wrote The Independent, ‘with its particular blend of fine-honed precision and passionate expressiveness.’

@Cuarteto Casals

Cuarteto Casals

  • Abel Tomàs violin
  • Vera Martínez-Mehner violin
  • Jonathan Brown viola
  • Arnau Tomàs cello


  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), String Quartet in G minor Op. 20 No. 3
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975), String Quartet No. 1 in C Op. 49
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847), String Quartet No. 3 in D Op. 44 No. 1

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and under.

This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval