Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano

Part of International Piano Series

Alexander Gavrylyuk, winner of the 2005 Arthur Rubinstein Competition, makes his debut in the International Piano Series.

De Telegraaf calls Alexander Gavrylyuk ‘one of the great discoveries of the past decade’.

Please note change of programme.

His recital begins with an imposing piano transcription of Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor; next he offers Haydn’s B Minor Sonata, which mingles pure Classical lines with shadowy, mysterious atmospheres, and the first half finishes with a sprinkling of Chopin.

The second half is devoted to the music of some great Russian composers. First, Prokofiev’s short and little known third sonata and then Rachmaninov’s Etudes tableaux, where the most demanding technical tasks are present in the form of expressive character pieces. He concludes with Balakirev’s Islamey, once considered to be the most difficult piece ever written.

About St John’s Smith Square


Alexander Gavrylyuk piano


Bach: Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV.565 transc. Busoni Haydn: Piano Sonata in B minor, Hob.XVI/32 Chopin: Fantasia in F minor, Op.49; Polonaise in A flat, Op.53 Interval Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No.3 in A minor, Op.28 Rachmaninov: Etude-tableau in C minor, Op.39 No.1; Etude-tableau in A minor, Op.39 No.2; Etude-tableau in E flat minor, Op.39 No.5; Etude-tableau in C minor, Op.39 No.7; Etude-tableau in D, Op.39 No.9 Balakirev: Islamey, oriental fantasy


3 May 2017
Approximate run time: 150 mins


Partner venues

St John’s Smith Square,Smith Square, London SW1P 3HA

£10 – £38
Booking fee: £1.75 (Members £0.00)


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

Ticketing £7 student tickets are available via the Student Pulse app in the month before this concert. Download the app from any app store or go to